Let there be light…

I’m not a very handy, crafty type person. I tried knitting – I was terrible. I tried cross-stitch – I lost patience and gave up. However, one thing I can do is decoupage, thanks to my lovely friend Anne P who ran a  course at our local school (now if anyone should have a blog showing the wonderful things she makes, it should be her).

So here’s a lamp I made earlier. A friend picked up  a very basic one from a charity shop for me – and carried it all the way home, receiving some hilarious comments as she went (“Got a light, love?”). I then sprayed the stand gloss white, and stuck strips of paper cut from an old Habitat catalogue onto the shade. Finished off with some rather decadent tasselled fringing, it’s undergone quite a transformation.

I’m quite proud of it – considering I’m so rubbish at stuff like this (I have to ask my husband to sew on buttons), I feel a glow of satisfaction that I created something unique for my home.

xx

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

