A Nagel on my table

It’s only fairly recently that I’ve become interested in mid-century modern design, and one of my favourite purchases from this era has to be my set of German chrome candlesticks, designed by Fritz Nagel and Ceasar Stoffi. Manufactured by BMF/Nagel, (Beyerische Metall Fabrik) around 1965, there’s something incredibly space-age about them.

 

My set are the classic 3-footed candlestick, which you can make into various configurations by plugging them into one another. I do play with mine a fair bit – but don’t let anyone else in the house touch them, in case they ruin the perfect design I’ve just created. I know, I’m a nightmare to live with.

I found these great images of some more unusual designs on a blog called Modlife:

Pictures courtesy of Modlife, Inc

A design classic, they’ve got a touch of the whimsy about them that I love. Industrial and yet playful – what more could you want?

xx

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

