True to type

I think I might have already mentioned this, but I absolutely love typographic art. I have a few examples around my house, some of which I’ve bought, and others which I’ve made.

I bought this print from an unknown seller in London’s Spitalfields Market many years ago, so can’t credit it unfortunately. I have it on the wall in my bedroom, and just love the ambiguity of it. You Make Me…. what? Angry? Happy? Or perhaps Complete….

I particularly love the use of the stencil-type font – so utilitarian, so clean-lined – and was inspired to create my own artwork:

Simply stencilled in black paint onto a piece of plywood (another of my particular passions – I love the rich grain, as well as the striped edges you get with a good piece of ply), there are a couple of very personal reasons behind the choice of these particular words.

Myself, my husband and two sons are all pretty big fans of the band Super Furry Animals, and have seen them a number of times together at various festivals. One of our favourite songs is “It’s Not the End of the World” from the 2004 album Song Book, Vol 1 – hence reason number one for choosing this particular phrase.

Even more pertinent however, is a conversation I had with my eldest son when he was an extremely precocious four year old (now he’s an extremely precocious nine year old – some things never change). Whenever he’d get horribly upset over something, I’d find myself saying “Don’t worry, it’s not the end of the world”. Until one time, when he thought long and hard, and then asked me “Mum, so when exactly is the end of the world?”.

As I’ve said before – and will probably say again – I’m happiest if an object in my home is not only aesthetically pleasing, but also brings a smile to my face – which this certainly does.

Here’s a quick round-up of some more great typographical art out there at the moment…

Brigitte Herrod – Rockett St George (smile rating – 10 out of 10!)

Not On The High Street

Rob Ryan – St Jude’s Gallery

James Brown – St Jude’s Gallery

xx

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

