Wishful thinking

Another day, another post about chairs. I’m not sure where this obsession comes from, but my latest in the occasional series “Objects I wish I had in my home” takes a long, lustful look at the Wishbone chair, designed by Hans J. Wegner in 1949.

Image: design attractor

Evolved from an earlier design which had been influenced by pictures of Danish merchants sitting in Ming chairs, this classic is also known as the Y chair. There certainly is an Oriental feel to the design, with its graceful curves and simple, pared-back beauty. In his own words, Wegner’s approach was one of “stripping the old chairs of their outer style and letting them appear in their pure construction.”

However, the true genius of Wegner’s design is that the Wishbone somehow looks totally and absolutely right in any room – regardless of the design scheme or interior styling.  So from clean Scandi to modern miminalism, here’s how the Wishbone fits right in:

Monochrome Magic:

Image: remodelista.com

Modern Minimalism:

Image: thenorthelevationblogspot.com

Clean Scandi:

Image: emmas design blogg

Modern rustic:

Image: plush palate blogspot

Warm woods:

Image: Canadian House and Home

My wishful thinking will have to remain just that for a little while longer – but at least I know that whatever design direction my home takes, there’ll always be a place for a Wishbone or two.

xx

Leave a comment

Filed under Objects I wish I had in my home, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

