Pretty vs Practical

I’ve got a decorating dilemma, and it goes a little something like this. There’s a possibility that we might be able to remodel our kitchen – something I’ve wanted to do for a long time. We’ve lived with the layout and units for about seven years, and I’ve come to the conclusion that we’re not making the best use of the space (I know, it takes me a while, but I get there in the end).

There’s a bay window in the first half of the room, which is where our dining table currently resides. Problem is, the oven and most of the useable workspace is directly opposite this, so this end of the room is fairly crowded. The other end has loads of room, with units and shelving along the walls, and lots of floor space in front of the french doors onto the garden.

I’ve worked out a way to re-use all of the existing units, and change things around so the kitchen itself (cupboards, oven, sink, appliances etc) is at one end, and the other (by the doors onto the garden) becomes the dining area. All our existing units fit perfectly into the new design – I used squared graph paper and everything to work it out!

But here’s the dilemma bit – our boiler is totally and utterly decrepit. Taking a shower is an interesting affair, with the water temperature veering with an almost metronomic regularity between unpleasantly chilly and scalding hot. Back and forth it goes as you try to wash your hair – oooh, cold; ow, hot… and so on.

So the question is – do I act all sensible and replace the boiler (which would mean no funds for redoing the kitchen), or do I go with  my heart and get the kitchen I really want?

It’s a tough one, and I’m not sure which option is going to win the day.

So whilst my heart and head battle it out, here are some lust-worthy kitchen images for you to chew on…

Images from top:  Desire to Inspire, A Punch of Colour Design, Apartment Therapy, Sognisorrisi Blogspot, House to Home

All of these are very different, but there’s something about each of them that I love. Not really helping with the decision, though….

xx

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

